Historic District Commission

historic photoThe Historic District Commission consists of five members appointed by the Commissioners of St. Michaels for a term of three years.

The Historic District Commission meets on the 1st Thursday of the month at 6:00 p.m. at the Town Office.

Under a specific set of regulations and guidelines, the Commission is required by law to review the appropriateness of most exterior architectural design changes, additions, new construction and demolition.

The St. Michaels Historic District was created in 1972 to safeguard the heritage of the Town of St. Michaels by protecting and preserving buildings, structures, sites, objects, public ways and views located in the town that reflect the Town’s cultural, social, political, and architectural history. The preservation of the above elements serves not only to protect the educational, cultural, and economic values of the Town and its citizens, but also to promote these values to the public.

Unless notice is given of an alternative venue, all meetings are held at the Edgar M. Bosley Building (Town Office), at 300 Mill Street. 410-745-9535

St. Michaels Historic District Design Guidelines
Historic District Commission Information & Application Packet (Complete)
HDC Summary Application Procedure
HDC Application
HDC Proposed Materials Checklist
HDC Sign Agreement
HDC Administrative Fees
Historic District Commission Brochure
HDC Rules and Procedures
HDC Submittal Deadlines

For information on the The Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties click here.

For information on the Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program click here.

Members Term Ending
Pete Lesher, Chair 12/31/2021
James L. Fulton III, Vice-Chair 12/31/2019
Marie Martin 12/31/2019
Walda du Priest Brandt 12/31/2020
Glenn Fong 12/31/2020

The following is a list of minutes for past Historic District Committee meetings occurring in St. Michaels.

9-20-18 Workshop