
FFrreeqquueennttllyy  AAsskkeedd  QQuueessttiioonnss::  
St. Michaels 

Automated Speed Enforcement Program 
 

What is Automated Speed Enforcement? 
In October 2009 the State of Maryland authorized the use of Automated Speed 
Monitoring Systems (speed cameras) in school and highway work zones. The system 
uses radar technology to measure the speed of every vehicle that passes the camera.  
Vehicles found to be exceeding the posted speed limit by at least 12 miles per hour 
will be photographed to document the violation and determine the vehicle’s 
registered owner.  After the violation is reviewed and approved by a duly authorized 
law enforcement officer, a citation, including the violation photos and the vehicle’s 
speed, will be sent to the registered owner. 

 

Why is St. Michaels choosing to utilize this type of technology? 
Speeding is a serious problem nationwide.  In 2007, speed-related crashes accounted 
for 28% of all Maryland traffic fatalities.  According to the Federal Government, almost 
half of all speeding fatalities occurred on local and collector roads which are generally 
low speed roads found in business and residential areas.  The St. Michaels Police 
Department is using this technology as a tool to assist police in enforcing posted speed 
limits, ensuring the safety of both our children and citizens. 
 

How will I know if I’m in a speed camera zone? 
“Photo Enforced” signs will be placed beneath the speed limit signs alerting drivers that 
speed cameras may be in use. 

 

How much is the fine? 
The maximum fine is $40.00 for each violation and is stated on the citation.  Since the 
violations are being treated as civil and not criminal violations, no license points are 
assessed and vehicle insurance providers are not notified. 
 

How much time do I have to pay my speed citation? 
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the due date indicated on the citation.  



I just received a speed citation! What are my options? 
Two options are available- pay the fine or contest the citation. 
 

 

OPTION I.  Pay the Fine 
• Pay Online:  Logon to https://secure.SpeedViolation.com by entering the 
citation number and license plate number noted on your citation.  There is 
a $3.50 convenience fee for paying online, assessed at the time of 
payment. 

• Pay by Mail:  Mail your check or money order (payable to the St. Michaels 
Photo Enforcement Program) in the return envelope provided.  Be sure to 
include the payment stub from the bottom of the notice you received 
along with your payment.  PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH.  

• Pay by Phone:  Credit card payments can be made by calling the St. 
Michaels Photo Enforcement Program Customer Service Call Center toll 
free at 1-833-600-6400.  Payments will be accepted between the hours of 
9am – 4pm (EST), Monday through Friday.  VISA and MasterCard are 
accepted and there is a $3.50 convenience fee for the service.  A 
transaction confirmation number will be provided, as well as an email 
confirmation for your permanent records if you wish. 
 

 

OPTION II.  Contest the Citation 
Any vehicle owner who receives a Citation has the option to contest 
through Maryland District Court. To request a court date, return the 
completed form at the bottom of your citation at least five (5) days prior 
to the due date listed on your citation notice. Mail the request in the 
envelope provided to PHOTO ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM, PO BOX 33, 
BEDFORD PARK, IL 60499-0033.  
 
If you appear in court, the maximum mount you will be charged is a $40 
fine plus court costs. You will be notified by mail of the court date. If you 
do not receive a notice within 30 days, call the St. Michaels Photo 
Enforcement Program Customer Service Call Center at 1-833-600-6400. 

 

 

https://secure.speedviolation.com/


Will the Speed Monitoring System Operator be present in court? 

The Speed Monitoring System operator is not required to be in court. However, you 
may request the presence of the operator by submitting a written request for the 
operator’s presence no later than twenty (20) days before your scheduled court date. 
Send this correspondence in an envelope marked “OPERATOR REQUEST” to PHOTO 
ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM, PO BOX 33, BEDFORD PARK, IL 60499-0033. 

 

What if my vehicle and/or license plates were stolen at the time of 

the violation?      
If your vehicle and/or license plates were stolen when the infraction took place you 
should request an in-person hearing.  Enclose a copy of the police report for the 
vehicle/plates with the request and mail it to PHOTO ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM, PO 
BOX 33, BEDFORD PARK, IL 60499-0033. 

 

What if I was not the operator of the car at the time the violation took 

place? Am I still liable? 
If you, as the registered owner of the vehicle, were not operating the vehicle at the 
time of the infraction, in order to prove that you were not the driver, in addition to 
your testimony at trial, the law requires you to provide a letter to the District Court 
that states that the person named in the citation was not operating the vehicle at the 
time of the violation. The letter must be: (1) sworn to or affirmed by you, and (2) 
mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested. Include in the letter all 
corroborating evidence. Send your letter in an envelope marked “SPEED CAMERA- 
NOT THE DRIVER” to PHOTO ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM, PO BOX 33, BEDFORD PARK, IL 
60499-0033. 
 

You are eligible to Transfer Liability if you fall into one of the following categories: 

• If you or your company were not operating the vehicle at the time the 
citation was issued. 

• You have corroborating evidence that supports your statement and 
representations that you were not operating the vehicle at the time of the 
violation. 

 



Examples of corroborating evidence which have been acceptable to the District Court: 

• Work: Provide a certified statement from your employer confirming you were 
working at the time the violation took place. 

• Travel:  Provide travel documents (airline, train, bus tickets) or a hotel receipt 
confirming your name, dates of travel and destination. 

• Loan of Vehicle to Friends / Relatives: Provide a letter from the individual 
accepting responsibility for the violation and confirming you were not operating 
the vehicle.  The name, address and driver’s license number of the individual must 
be provided. 

• Vehicle Being Serviced:  Provide a copy of repair bill / invoice that confirms the 
vehicle was being serviced at the time the violation took place. Contact 
information (name, address, telephone number) for the service station or repair 
shop must appear on the statement. 

• Lease of Vehicle:  Provide a copy of the lease agreement with all identifying 
information, including signatures of parties and the effective dates of the lease. 

• Vehicle Sold:  Provide a copy of the vehicle’s Bill of Sale. 

• Military Duty: Provide a copy of Military Orders or a certified statement from a 
Commanding Officer that the individual cited was in military service or deployed 
at the time the violation occurred.  

• Deceased: Provide a copy of the death certificate and a certified statement 
from the estate administrator. 

 

What happens if the Transfer of Liability request is denied? 
If your request is denied for any reason the citation will be reissued to the registered 
owner and you will be responsible for payment. 
 

What if there is a technical error with my citation? Who should I 

contact? 
If you believe a technical error has been made, your concern should be submitted in 
writing to the jurisdiction’s local designee prior to the deadline for contesting liability. 
Send your letter addressed to “Local Designee” to ST. MICHAELS POLICE DEPARTMENT, 
300 MILL ST. PO BOX 206, ST. MICHAELS, MD 21663. 

 



What happens if I ignore the violation notice? 
Failure to pay the civil penalty or to contest liability prior to the due date listed on the 
citation is an admission of liability. Continued failure to pay may result in the refusal or 
suspension of the motor vehicle registration. 

 

If I pay the fine, can I then contest it or ask for a hearing? 
No.  Once you have paid a fine it is considered an admission of liability and requests to 
contest or schedule a hearing will not be granted. 

 

If I pay the fine, will my insurance rates increase? 
No. An admission of liability will not result in points and cannot be used to increase 
your insurance rates. 

 

How do I know these violations are valid? 
Every speed camera unit is tested and calibrated daily and undergoes an Annual 
Calibration Verification by an independent test laboratory. The results of these 
calibration tests are considered admissible evidence by Maryland District Court and are 
required to be present at every speed camera court hearing as proof that the cameras 
are functioning accurately. 

 

If the vehicle is found to be exceeding the posted speed limit, a series of images are 
taken.  These images passed a two-part review process by violation evaluation 
specialists before being submitted to the St. Michaels Police Department for final 
review and approval. The alleged citation is then mailed to the registered owner or 
identified driver. Confirmation of the owner’s name, address and vehicle registration 
information was provided to the St. Michaels Police Department by the Maryland 
Motor Vehicle Administration.   
 

Isn’t it a violation of my privacy to have a camera photograph my 

vehicle without my permission? 
No. Individuals applying for a driver’s license are agreeing to abide by the established 
Rules of the Road. Speed Enforcement Cameras only capture images of vehicles whose 
drivers have chosen to violate the established laws by speeding, and according to 
established Court doctrine, individuals who are breaking the law forfeit their privacy 
rights. 



When is St. Michaels using Speed Enforcement Cameras? 

Speed Enforcement Cameras will be operational between the hours of 6am-8pm 
Monday thru Friday. 
 

Where is St. Michaels using Speed Enforcement Cameras? 
The School Zones being enforced within St. Michaels will be designated by very visible 
signs. 
 

Any streets within a ½ mile radius of a school are eligible for Speed Photo Enforcement. 
These include (but are not limited to) the following: 
 

● MD Rt. 33/Talbot Street by St. Michaels Elementary School 
 

 


